Advertisement

Brighton Asylum Reviews

 
  • 2 Brighton Avenue
  • Passaic, NJ
  • 201-716-2827
Details
Average Review
Review Me
Scare Factor
Very Scary
Appropriate For
Adults and brave teenagers. Children under 10yrs are not recommended. Enter at your own risk
Organization Type
Commercial / For Profit
Listing Categories
Haunted Houses, Zombie Hunts & Shootouts, Escape Games, Other Events
Review This Haunt
  • Better than the past couple years

    we went to Brighton for 2015 and this was by far the best year yet. They really stepped up their game and paid a lot of attention to the sets and detail. The actors were great and we had a blast. They expanded a bit and it def felt longer than in the past. Great Job!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted 10/31/15

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • great time

    Worth the drive great people awesome actors love the detail

    Posted 1/16/15

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    5 out of 6 found this review helpful

  • Excellent !!!

    From start to finish, I definitely recommend the haunt ! The details to the way to the actors look to the props are amazing - have been to a few of the other larger area haunts and this is by far the best !

    Posted 10/12/14

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • SO FUN - Actors were awesome

    So much fun...It was a long wait but that's of course due to it's popularity. Actors walk around during line though and even scare you when you use their bathrooms haha it was fun... the scenes were so cool, liked how it was detailed, would of been cool if they added more to it, overall it was creepy & we had a good timeThe owner was such a sweetheart btw!

    Posted 10/11/14

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Alright but still good

    The haunt itself was like I said alright it wasn't the worst nor the best either it was scary don't get me wrong one particular memory was well not to spoil anything but I was totally frightened by the girl with her bed on the wall!! But you need to see how you like it ????

    Posted 10/9/14

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • will def be back again for their other events ! Lines were a bit long but worth it in my opinion!

    Posted 10/22/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • must go to this haunt!

    The entire haunt from start to finish is anything but a disappointment. Very well put together and decorated, and the actors were phenomenal. Scary and intense from start to finish. Definitely had my heart racing! If you haven't been there yet this season you must go!! Can't wait to go back for the 13 haunted events!!

    Posted 10/21/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Better than the past couple years

    we went to Brighton for 2015 and this was by far the best year yet. They really stepped up their game and paid a lot of attention to the sets and detail. The actors were great and we had a blast. They expanded a bit and it def felt longer than in the past. Great Job!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted 10/31/15

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • great time

    Worth the drive great people awesome actors love the detail

    Posted 1/16/15

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    5 out of 6 found this review helpful

  • Excellent !!!

    From start to finish, I definitely recommend the haunt ! The details to the way to the actors look to the props are amazing - have been to a few of the other larger area haunts and this is by far the best !

    Posted 10/12/14

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • SO FUN - Actors were awesome

    So much fun...It was a long wait but that's of course due to it's popularity. Actors walk around during line though and even scare you when you use their bathrooms haha it was fun... the scenes were so cool, liked how it was detailed, would of been cool if they added more to it, overall it was creepy & we had a good timeThe owner was such a sweetheart btw!

    Posted 10/11/14

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Alright but still good

    The haunt itself was like I said alright it wasn't the worst nor the best either it was scary don't get me wrong one particular memory was well not to spoil anything but I was totally frightened by the girl with her bed on the wall!! But you need to see how you like it ????

    Posted 10/9/14

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • will def be back again for their other events ! Lines were a bit long but worth it in my opinion!

    Posted 10/22/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • must go to this haunt!

    The entire haunt from start to finish is anything but a disappointment. Very well put together and decorated, and the actors were phenomenal. Scary and intense from start to finish. Definitely had my heart racing! If you haven't been there yet this season you must go!! Can't wait to go back for the 13 haunted events!!

    Posted 10/21/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • amazing!!!

    i highly recommend checking this out!!! definitely worth going out to!! great job guys! i will be back!!

    Posted 10/21/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • definitely an amwesome time

    My friends and i loved it every part of the haunt it was great the detail was perfect the actors were amazing definitely coming back for every other event!!!

    Posted 10/21/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Sadly underwhelmed

    For all the rave reviews I was a little disappointed with Brighton. Long lines are to be expected at any high profile haunt and the line warmers did an EXCELLENT job. However, the rest of the haunt was more schizophrenic than the patients inside and not in a good way. One minute your being tormented by a mental patient and the next you're in a cave? catacomb? wasn't entirely sure what it was. The scenes that you do see are well done and the actors do a decent job with a few scares specifically standing out. No spoilers but the chair totally surprised us. Sadly a handful of decent scares wasn't enough to really work for us. I haven't been to any of the seasonal events that Brighton puts on throughout the year, this review is for the basic haunt. I do plan to come back and try some of the seasonal events. Hoping next time works out better.

    Posted 10/21/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • WOW!!!

    went on friday the 13th and came back again last night. this is hands down the best haunt I have EVER been to. there makeup looks like its from face off, the room detail is amazing, and their attraction is packed with actors. i dont know who the one guy outside was with the one eye (awesome costume by the way) but he knew my name!!!! We will be back for Christmas!!

    Posted 10/20/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Soooo intense!!!...I

    This place is SO INTENSE...I wanna be there...EVERY SINGLE NIGHT!!!

    Posted 10/11/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • awesome

    There were a ton of people waiting to get in, the line was a little rough, but sooooooooo worth it. Best haunt ive experienced hands down!!!

    Posted 9/16/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • THE BEST ATTRACTION EVER

    We had an amazing time this year! My mother and I have been going for years now and they never seem to disappoint! I brought my boyfriend this year for the first time and he screamed more than I did! We all loved it and it was an awesome experience! CAN'T WAIT TILL OCTOBERS FUN! Thank you Brighton asylum!!

    Posted 9/16/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • The BEST, BEST, BEST!

    I have been going to haunted houses since the early 80's so I consider myself a pretty good critic. By far this is the best haunt in new jersey. The scenery looks like it came right out of a horror movie, the actors are excellent and the makeup and costumes are all custom designed and made. Not from your neighborhood halloween store. They also have some really unique ideas that are not in most haunted attractions. Scared the crap out of me and thats pretty hard to do. Good going guys. See you in October and for the 13 haunts.

    Posted 9/16/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • Brighton Asylum Rocks!

    Opening night was awesomely fantastic! Great crowd (it was jammed packed with people but very orderly and super friendly)...phenomenal actors (the way they popped up unexpectedly added to fun) and the asylum itself kicked @$$! Loved the suspense/thrill factor (you NEVER knew who would come out and at what time). From the moment you arrive until the time you leave, your senses are on high alert! There's always a surprise around the corner! Brighton Asylum: Haunted Attraction rocks!

    Posted 9/16/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Friday the 13th

    Although the line was long...it was well worth the wait. OMG, I was so scared. Can't wait for October. I also bought a ticket for the 13 haunts.

    Posted 9/15/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Something more to do throughout the YEAR and SHARE MEMORIES

    What is there to say BRIGHTON ASYLUM is this years top place to go. If you are looking for a good scare, de-stress from stress, a lot of laughs with friends. This is the place for you. I went there with family we both agreed that getting a good scare will make you feel younger and de-stressed. If its hard for you to stand on a long line here are some IDEAS when they get close have your group call you and you get out of car and go online, or pay extra and go on the express line. Plus now they have more scares throughout the year give that holiday a twists Get out of the normal routine. It is so worth the memories and something to share with others.But one thing DONT do is be online and let your friends come online where you are I saw that and thought ok I am here waiting and here is 7 people just showing up skipping the line. Think of those behind you waiting like you are.

    Posted 9/15/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Incredible Job !!!!

    Myself being in Halloween retail business for 25 years went to check out Brighton Asylumon Friday the 13th perfect night to open and was shocked at the job they do to detail and actors were great !!! so at the end of the event i went and purchased tickets for my self and 2 friends to bring back for the 13 event package and will be looking forward to seeing my friends reactions as they go through it ..AGAIN INCREDIBLE JOB BRIGHTON ASYLUM!!!

    Posted 9/15/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Best Haunted Attraction

    I got to attend on Friday the 13th and I must say that Brighton Asylum continues to scare me year after year!! The set and actors are always changing and never dull. I always try different haunted attractions every year but Brighton Asylum is the only one I return to on a regular basis. As I walk through the attraction I can't help but scream and then admire their attention to detail and creativity. I also think it's awesome to see the horror movie items they have on display. Looking forward to checking out the other year long attractions that are available! !!

    Posted 9/15/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Brighton Asylum - the best haunt that exists to this day.

    This is by far my favorite place to go because they're open for multiple events all year 'round and they really put a lot of time and effort into their events. I've gone every year now and this year I won a pass to attend all 13 events for 2013. They are super accomodating and really care about their customers. They even have facebook contests when u feel like ur part of the team because they care what u think! The haunts are scary as hell and jm not easily scared. Theres always something new to see when u go there and if u have to wait on line, don't worry - I'd camp out over night to get into their haunts.. hats how amazing they are! Definitely worth purchasing the 13 events pass for $99. That's by far the cheapest and best deal that exists. I love this place and I can't wait to experience the next 12 events with them this year!!!!!!

    Posted 9/15/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Fantastic haunt!!!

    I was there for the Friday the 13th opening and over 1000 people showed up at least! Sounds like the SAD reviewer was upset about the line. The wait was rough but the haunt was just plain awesome. We'll definitely be back!

    Posted 9/15/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Scary??? In a word...or 2...HELL YESSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!

    Only thing I can say is...You won't be prepared for what's inside this place!!! Never been so scared in my life!!! ...:o...I LOVED IT!!!

    Posted 9/7/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • INNOVATIVE

    This haunt was well worth the drive. The haunt was entertaining, frightening and well designed and decorated. The actors were well costumed and seasoned. This haunt is a MUST SEE. The haunt will now feature 13 events that will last for well over 6 months all for one price. WHAT a GREAT DEAL. If you average out the cost for all 13 events it is the best batgain out there compared to all the other haunts. I CAN"T WAIT.

    Posted 7/3/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Year-long terror? Count me in!

    Beyond thrilled to see so many outside-the-box events in store for us--and not just during Halloween!!! I went last year; the house and monsters (everything from blood-drenched demented insane asylum patients...to freaky creatures that relentlessly follow you around only to reappear when you least expect them) are THE CREEPIEST I've ever seen!

    Posted 6/4/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Insanity...at it's best!!!

    Well...It Scared meeeee!!!...:o...and I loved every single minute of it!!!...;)

    Posted 5/25/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Worth the Pants Wetting

    This place as the most amazing actors and scenery! everything is done very well and the location is amazing. never thought i'd find an attraction like this!

    Posted 5/23/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • THE best

    Every step of the way, I never knew what to expect. Awesome.

    Posted 5/23/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Best Holiday Scares!

    I attended the october haunt but never expected to see an Xmas and valentines day scare as well! The actors are phenomenal, makeup is fantastic and I highly recommended the company to all my friends!

    Posted 5/23/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • THE BEST scares in NJ!!

    Went through during Halloween weekend last year, some of the best makeup/ costumes I've seen in a long time, the actors were really into it, and the end scene was completely unexpected.. I just about wet myself!!! Their other location in Montvale was just as great! Thought I was safe in the wagon, until the actors proved otherwise when they jumped on!!

    Posted 5/23/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Interesting

    The whole thing was creepy even the ride there but thats what made it the best haunted attraction I have been to can't wait to go back

    Posted 5/23/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Will Scare the F#*! out of you

    The location alone is terrifying. I haven't been to a haunt this good in this part of new Jersey in a while. State Scare is getting old, Brighton was a refreshing take on the haunted house industry. I went to both the V-day and X-mas haunts they hosted as well and the place was packed! The make-up was a step up from average haunts from what I saw, and the actors nailed it. I would definitely recommend it! Its not for KIDS fyi, They will not handle this haunt. I can't wait for the new haunts they have in store for next year!

    Posted 5/23/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Awesome!

    I went on Halloween and Valentine's Day. Very scary and diffferent from other haunted houses. Im STILL creeeped out from one thing but I wont tell you what it is...Going back again for sure!

    Posted 5/23/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • love it!!

    Very scary and changes every year !

    Posted 5/23/13

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • VERY SCARY!

    My sisters and I just went here last night and it was so much FUN!! When you walk inside the asylum, there are so many twists and turns. You have no idea where to go or what is gonna pop out at you which is why its so great! I was probably screaming the most out of all of us. I will definitely be back next year!!!

    Posted 10/27/12

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • wow!

    it was everything we hoped it would be. they had things i never saw before in a haunted house. we all had a great time. thought only my wife would be scared but they got me! the end is ridiculous! we will be back!!!!!!!

    Posted 10/24/12

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Pretty cool

    The wait was long but we were in there for at least 25 mins.costumes effects were pretty cool....I was pretty freaked out at some points....the end is the best so don't chicken out!!

    Posted 10/21/12

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Loved it <3

    Had a great time. I will def be coming back next year.

    Posted 10/20/12

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • worth the money!

    my friends and i saw their banner on van houten ave and decided to go. WOW!! we were really impressed. they have a museum before you enter of all original movie props and costumes and the haunt itself was absolutely awesomesauce! GO HERE!

    Posted 10/14/12

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Great Actors

    One of my favorite new found haunts :)

    Posted 10/8/12

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Wow! Great stuff!

    I was there over the weekend with my family and this place has stuff I've never seen. Not even at Universal Studios Halloween. You got me. We'll be back for sure!

    Posted 10/8/12

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Best haunted house in the east cost!

    The best haunted house I ever been to!And I have been to alot . The pushes fight fest that is held at 6 falgs right out of the line up! Better then every thing! Can't wait till oct. 5 to go agen

    Posted 8/23/12

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Best haunted house!

    This haunted house is scary from start to finish,just walking outside of the haunt made me kinda scared.Loved the horror movie museum tour, definitely a great thing to visit while you are at the haunted house.The actors in the haunt were amazing, they had me so scared as well as the scenery! This haunt made me so terrified that I almost wanted to exit the haunted house! I CAN NOT WAIT until OCT. 5th comes.

    Posted 8/17/12

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • This haunt was INSANE!

    I was browsing the internet and found this ad for Brighton Asylum and wanted to say that we had an absolute BLAST last october and definitely plan on going back this october! We have been to haunts all over the east coast and this one definitely stands out. We have been going to the haunt they run in Montvale for years, and always enjoyed it, but this one blew us away! most haunts are skimpy on the actors, and very cheesy on the sets. Not this one! cant wait until oct. 5th!

    Posted 8/8/12

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Great Haunt... The Best in Jersey!!!

    I never was so scared in my life.

    Posted 8/7/12

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

Review This Attraction

  • Click to rate
  • Do not use all capital letters. No profanity.
  • Be specific - the more details the better. No HTML.
  • Administrative use only. Will NOT be displayed
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • I have more to say about this haunt (optional)
  • Would you recommended to a friend?
  • Suitable for families with kids?